Myanmar suspends visa services to curb COVID-19

 Industry News     |     April 02, 2020
Special: Battle Against Novel Coronavirus

Myanmar's Foreign Affairs Ministry announced a temporary suspension of issuance of visas on arrival and e-visa for all countries from Saturday, according to a statement from the Foreign Affairs Ministry late Friday.

The suspension will be effective until April 30 this year, but diplomats accredited to Myanmar, resident United Nations (UN) officials and any foreign nationals who intend to travel to Myanmar on compelling reason or on important official mission are asked to contact Myanmar missions for necessary entry visa or for ease of the quarantine procedure, the statement said.

The ministry also announced taking further restrictive measures on the coronavirus-hit countries from Saturday.

According to the statement, all incoming travellers including Myanmar nationals from the United States, Switzerland, Britain, the Netherlands, Austria, Belgium, Norway, Sweden and Denmark will be put under facility quarantine on their arrival in the country.

Meanwhile, diplomats accredited to Myanmar, resident UN officials are asked to take home quarantine for 14 days.

The statement stressed that all incoming travellers are required to present medical certificate issued by a medical facility recognized by the health authorities of their respective countries to enter Myanmar.

The ministry recently announced quarantine restrictions to travellers from Italy, Iran, France, Spain, Germany, China and South Korea on March 15.

As part of precautionary measures to prevent the spread of COVID-19, the ministry also announced temporary suspension of entry of foreign nationals through border checkpoints staring from Thursday.

No confirmed COVID-19 case has been reported so far in Myanmar.

For more information visitAudio Gudie System